Fanfare for a poo!

Potty2A momentous thing happened two nights ago. I never thought this was a topic I’d get  excited about, let alone write about, but I’m feeling very proud of my little lady so can’t help it. To cut a long story short, it was the first time my 19-month-old told me she’d had a poo in her nappy!

We were sitting down together relaxing after dinner when suddenly, out of nowhere, she turned to me and a little bit sheepishly said ‘poo poo’. There was something about it that made me think it might not be a false alarm, though I still half expected it to be. I started to wonder if I’d misheard and she’d said ‘choo, choo’ as we live close to a railway line. But there was something in the way she said it that made me think not. Trains are usually heralded with much more excitement. Anyway, a quick mummy sniff proved suspicious but inconclusive so we checked her nappy and it turned out that the poo was indeed very real! Cue much praise from mummy and a warm glow of pride, followed by the  realisation that she really is growing up now.

The little milestones seem to be coming thick and fast at the moment. Every day she seems to grow in confidence and want to be that little bit more independent. There’s a daily stream of new words, or at least attempts at them. Anything we’re doing she wants to try to do.
She suddenly seems to be more a little girl than that tiny little baby.

Anyway, without wanting to get too far ahead of ourselves, she has repeated the feat once since then so I’m thinking I need to add reading up on potty training to the ‘to do’ list.

Anyone got any tips to get us started?!

Categories: Motherhood, Toddlerdom | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Fanfare for a poo!

  1. Pingback: A tale of two potty triumphs! | Mummy's to do list

  2. Pingback: Potette Plus 2-in-1 travel potty review | Mummy's to do list

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

