New year, new list (sort of)

So, it’s that time of year when I feel compelled to join in with the tradition of resolutions. If I sound a little jaded it’s probably because some of the things I want to do better at in 2014 are the same things I’ve had on the list for many years but never really achieve. I’m hoping that committing this year’s resolutions to cyberspace will help me do a better job at staying on track!

1. Keep on blogging

This is a new one, and perhaps a bit obvious, but I’m still relatively new to all this and finding my feet. I started this blog back in October, having carried it around in my head for much of the year before that. Finally getting started was one of my big achievements of 2013.

This fab post of blogging resolutions from fellow newbie My Petite Canard got me thinking about how I want to develop this blog in the coming months and I’ll definitely be adopting some of them. I know I need to commit to a more regular schedule and plan to set up an editorial calendar to get my ideas down and keep me on track. I also need to bite the bullet and get to grips with analytics and SEO. Wish me luck!

2. Quit procrastinating

Given it took me the best part of a year to get going on this blog, you’ve probably already guessed I’m pretty good at putting things off. My main hurdle is my inner perfectionist. I worry so much about getting it wrong that all too often I don’t get going at all. Duh! The instant, fast-paced nature of blogging is helping me to overcome this somewhat. So now I’ve finally got going in this one area, I’m hoping I can transfer the momentum to other jobs on my long-term ‘to-do list’. Again, wish me luck!

3. Finish the Olympic scrapbook 

Linked to the above, I promise that I we (as it was meant to be a joint project with my husband), will finally finish the pesky, much-anticipated, half-done 2012 Olympics scrapbook that is sitting gathering dust in our bedroom!!!

4. Think positive 

I say this every year but I really, really want to try much harder with this in 2014. I’m one of life’s worriers and have been for as long as I can remember. Sometimes it’s helpful, being conscientious at work for example, but more often it’s a hindrance that, if I’m not careful, can sap my energy and enjoyment of life. I know what I need to do, I just need to do more of it. End of.

5. Be more grateful 

It’s all too easy to see the negatives when actually my life is full of blessings. I often get far too het up over minor problems or inconveniences when actually I need to stop and recognise how lucky I truly am. Top of the list, I have a gorgeous daughter, who fills every day with joy, and a wonderful supportive husband, who does so much for both of us.

6. Join in the Picture Book Reading Challenge for 2014 

It’s always good to start the year by taking on a challenge so we’ll be joining blogger Child-Led Chaos and doing the Picture Book Reading Challenge. The aim is for Little Miss and I to read 300 different picture books over the year, which comes to an average of five or six different books a week. Find out more and join in here

7. Read more grown-up books again 

While I’ve loved sharing books with my toddler, I’ve fallen out of my own personal reading habit over the last year and it’s something I miss. I love getting lost in a good book. It’s a great way to unwind at the end of the day and I love learning about new things. So my New Year’s gift to myself will be to ditch the smartphone in bed and make a bit more time to enjoy reading proper books again.

And, for once, I think I’ll leave it there while the list is nice and manageable.

Categories: Mind matters, My 'to-do' lists | Tags: , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “New year, new list (sort of)

  1. Thanks for linking in my blog post! This is such a great list, there’s definitely a few things you’ve mentioned that I’d like to adopt in the new year too – reading for example, I love reading too but I can’t remember the last time I finished a book that didn’t have pictures in it!

  2. Great resolutions. Some of them are similar to mine (gratitude, positive, reading) and I’ve also decided to join in with the 300 picture book challenge (even though my baby is just 8 months, never too young and she gets excited when I read to her).

    • Hi and thanks for stopping by. It’s great that you’re joining in the 300 picture book challenge. My daughter seemed to enjoy books when she was very small and she absolutely loves them now. It’s a habit worth starting young I think.

  3. Pingback: 300 Picture Book Challenge #1 | Mummy's to do list

  4. Pingback: When can becomes can’t | Mummy's to do list

  5. Pingback: What we read in November… | Mummy's to do list

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

