Blog Your Heart Out

blogyourheartoutI was delighted to be tagged by Jocelyn over at the Reading Residence for a Blog Your Heart Out award. It’s the first time I’ve been nominated to take part in one of these memes (I actually had to Google it to work out what it meant!) so it’s all rather exciting.

Anyway, the rules are simple, I answer the five questions then nominate five more blogs to continue the meme and learn a bit more about the people behind them.

The award should go to anyone who you think deserves a little mention for their efforts and gives you a little boost at the same time. It’s all about spreading the blog love I suppose!

Here are the questions and my answers…

What/Who encouraged you to start blogging?

I started reading parenting blogs when I was off on maternity leave after having my daughter in 2012. It was my first foray into the world of blogging and I was surprised at what I found – the quality of the writing, how entertaining it was and the community feel. I love writing so thought ‘I could do that’. It also fitted well with my work life and keeping my skills up-to-date – I work in PR and communications for a children’s charity. But most importantly, it was an outlet where I could write about the things I wanted to write about, those that interested me most.

How did you choose what topics to blog about?

It was logical to me to write primarily about parenting – that is the dominant force in my life at the moment and an endless source of material! But this still brings in many different topics. My daughter and I both love reading, so I cover books a lot. I’m still quite new so have lots of ideas I’m keen to develop. I’m a working mum so plan to write more around that juggling act. And, as I’m a bit of a worrier, I’m keen on exploring new ways to relax, as well as being on a permanent quest to embrace positive thinking.

What is something most people don’t know about you?

I used to be a local newspaper reporter and met my husband when we were both trainees – kind of like Lois Lane and Clark Kent. Well he is my Superman!

What 3 words describe your style?

Friendly, upbeat, fun (I hope!).

What do you like to do when you are not blogging?

At the moment I struggle to tear myself away from the laptop. Much of my time is taken up with immersing myself in the wonderful world of blogging. But I do like crafts, especially making cards, getting out and about with my family and, of course, reading.

So that’s me. I’ll now nominate some fellow newbies whose blogs I enjoy:

My Petite Canard

Brummy Mummy of 2

Seychelles Mama

Yummy Mummy Survival

And you can’t fail to be entertained by Bloke to be Broke and his man’s take on pregnancy and becoming a new parent.

I invite you to blog your heart out, if you so choose!

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Blog Your Heart Out

  1. Lovely to get to know more about you and your blogging journey so far. Love your Superman story!

    • Thank you and thanks for nominating me. I finally got around to finishing it – it’s been on my ‘to-do’ list for a few weeks now! It’s nice to spread the blog love and find out more about people.

  2. Ahhh thank you for nominating me I’m feeling the love!! I will definitely do my post and pass on some love too its a lovely idea! X

  3. Yay going to sit down and do this later. Fabby idea xxx

  4. Pingback: Blog your heart out | My Petit Canard

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

