Musical memories from our daughter’s first year

5 songs from daughter's first yearHearing a song on the car radio at the weekend reminded me how strongly I associate certain songs with the birth of our daughter in late March 2012. Just hearing them again makes me smile and can evoke some of my happiest memories. Some of them are not even my usual musical taste but it doesn’t matter because they take me straight back to a magical time and place, the earliest weeks of her life.

So I thought I’d share my baby top five:

1. Somebody That I Used To Know by Gotye featuring Kimbra

2. We Are Young by Fun featuring Janelle Monáe

3. Starships by Nicki Minaj (not the explicit version, that would be inappropriate!)

4. Call Me Maybe by Carly Rae Jepson

And I know I really shouldn’t but…

5. Gangam Style by Psy

Somebody That I Used to Know is definitely my favourite. It was number one in the UK when Little Miss was born, and had been for the whole of the month before so I’d heard it a lot while I was on maternity leave eagerly awaiting her arrival (although back then we didn’t know she was a her). I think the fact that its backing track samples the nursery rhyme Baa, Baa Black Sheep makes the association with babies even stronger.

While thinking about musical connections to Little Miss, I decided to do a bit of Googling… and I discovered that she shares her birthday with Lady GaGa and Radio 1 DJ Scott Mills.

I then couldn’t resist checking mine and it turns out the number one song when I was born was Gloria Gaynor’s disco classic I Will Survive! What’s more, I share my special day with music heavyweights Eric Clapton, Celine Dion, Nora Jones… and the one and only MC Hammer!

I’d love to hear which songs you associate most with your little ones.

And which famous people do you share your birthdays with?

Image credit: fotographic1980/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Post Comment Love
SuperBusyMum
Categories: Motherhood, Mummy memories | Tags: , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Musical memories from our daughter’s first year

  1. One of mine has got to be ‘she’s electric’ by Oasis. I was prancing around with a belly full of wine to one of my favourite songs. We didn’t even know we were pregnant but the songs always but always takes me straight back to that night. And a week or so later the positive pregnancy test :). ( I still feel guilty about the wine, despite not knowing we were expecting)

  2. Ah, I love that song and that whole Brit Pop era too. Happy days! I know so many people who had a heavy night just before they realised they were expecting. One had been unwittingly quaffing Champagne but all fine. Thanks for sharing your musical memory.

  3. This is a lovely post. I distinctly remember dancing around on holiday in France, really hot!, with the husband, my brother & his wife to Elvis’ Burning Love when I was about 5 months pregnant with Boo- lots of fun! And I’ve sung Your Song to Boo since she was born, so always associate that with her, too.

    • Thank you, I loved writing it. Your Song is beautiful. I should probably have added Twinkle Twinkle Little Star to my list. It was the first song Little Miss started showing a reaction to when she was about 5 weeks old. She’s not so fussed with it now, think Old MacDonald and Wheels on the Bus are more her cup of tea, but she used to love it.

  4. As I gave birth to my second daughter the radio was playing Soul Sister by Train which I think is very apt and will always remember! #MMWBH xxx

  5. As we drove to the hospital we had Simon Mayo’s all request Friday on so the song he plays right at the beginning each week takes me straight back to that journey! it was Monday before our baby made an appearance though- I had a playlist and that included Feel my love by Adele. Gorgeous.

  6. What a lovely list of songs – they remind me of Grace over the last couple of years. The song that reminds me of Grace being born is Grace Kelly by Mika and Go West’s album because that is what I had playing in labour. A great idea for a post. I share my birthday with Toyah Wilcox! (if you know who she is?!) Thank you for linking to PoCoLo x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

