As you turn two…

Dear Little Miss,

This time two years ago we were eagerly waiting for you to arrive. I was trying to remain calm and patient, especially as I was convinced my due date was later than the hospital was saying. I actually didn’t dare expect that you really would arrive this week at all! But thankfully you had other ideas.

This time two years ago we didn’t yet know you were a little girl and we still weren’t sure what we would call you. Naming a baby felt like a huge responsibility so we hoped we’d know what it should be when we saw you and much to my surprise we did within minutes of your birth decide. I usually take ages to make up my mind but when the all-important moment arrived we seemed to just know – and luckily agree. Hopefully you’ll still approve of our choice when you’re older!

This time two years ago we already loved you, of course we did, but we didn’t truly appreciate just how much. We didn’t yet understand just how much our lives would change for the better once we had you safely in our arms. We hadn’t quite imagined the depth of the joy we would feel when we met you for the first time and how much we would want to protect and care for you.

This time two years ago we hadn’t quite realised just how daunting it would feel to leave the hospital with you, our tiny, delicate newborn, a new life which we would be entirely responsible for nurturing. The night after you arrived I couldn’t sleep a wink. You’d been a little bit sick a few hours after being born so I stayed awake all night watching you, just to be sure you were ok. And I did what I often do when approaching something new or unfamiliar. I decided I’d better read another book about it! So at 3am, from my hospital bed, I ordered three more baby care books from Amazon! I’d already read several but at that point it just didn’t feel enough and I so wanted to do the very best for you. I still do. And the books did come in pretty useful so it wasn’t a completely mad thing to do. I also made lots of lists during those very early days!

This time two years ago we didn’t yet know just how wonderful it would be to watch you grow and develop. How every day would bring new little things. There are the big milestones that everyone gets very excited about… first smiles, first words, first steps. But every single day we notice something different, you discover new things, learn new skills. Right now those moments are coming especially thick and fast as you become more and more independent.

This time two years ago I didn’t yet know we would get to celebrate my birthday as a new little family. You arrived two days ahead of schedule, not something you get from your usually-running-a-little-bit-late mother! Your perfect timing meant we were able to come home from hospital the night before my birthday and wake up all together on my special day. It really was a magical time.

You were, are and always will be the very best birthday present I’ve ever had. The last two years have been the best of our lives and we’re so looking forward to celebrating your special day with you later this week. X

 Mother and daughter 2012

Mummy with her surprise early birthday present back in 2012

SuperBusyMum

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

 

Categories: Motherhood, Mummy memories | Tags: , , | 27 Comments

Post navigation

27 thoughts on “As you turn two…

  1. Beautifully written and how lovely that you got to come home for your birthday! Hope you both have great Birthdays!

    • Thank you for your kind words. It was quite an emotional one to write! Really looking forward to the birthday celebrations. And we have a new little nephew born today so another birthday this week now!

  2. Awww… nicely written and I am sure your daughter will be delighted when she sees this in the future =)
    Happy birthday to your daughter.
    #MM

  3. A lovely look back on two years and a very happy birthday #MagicMoments

  4. awww this is beautiful!! and happy 2nd birthday to your princess honey xxx
    thank you for linking up and sharing with #MagicMoments x

  5. What lovely words, love reading a little birthday post and Happy Birthday to you too 🙂

  6. Aw, happy birthday to the pair of you! Amazing how far we come in 2 years (my son was 2012 too!)
    #mmwbh

  7. Pingback: Word of the Week #13 | Mummy's to do list

  8. Happy Birthday to you both! What a beautifully written account of your time together.

  9. Lovely write up. Got me thinking about the day my little girl was born. A very happy birthday to your angel. Wishing all love and laugher. 🙂
    #Po.Co.Lo

  10. That look on your daughter’s face just after she was born. I remember that look. It was on my daughter’s face too. #PoCoLo

    • Such lovely memories. I remember thinking she looked so wide-eyed and alert – more so than I’d expected – but at the same time so completely innocent. Thank you for reading.

  11. What a wonderful birthday you had 🙂 I love this age – I know you are going to as well. Happy birthday to your beautiful girl. Thank you for linking to PoCoLo x

    • Thank you. Yes, she’s becoming more and more a little girl every day. And more cheeky! Baby days are starting to feel quite a long time ago. Always a pleasure to link up.

  12. Beautifully written post and what an amazing birthday present to wake up with. That photo of you both is just too precious. Thanks for linking up to #madmidweekbloghop

    • Thank you. That was an amazing birthday and a pleasure to write about two years on. Always enjoy linking up to #madmidweekbloghop.

  13. Just wonderful and Happy Birthday to your beautiful little girl, the love, adoration and beauty of that birth picture is so touching! Thanks for linking up to #brillblogposts

  14. Pingback: Not my six-month blogiversary… | Mummy's to do list

  15. Pingback: I got 99 posts… and now my blog is one! | Mummy's to do list

  16. Pingback: Now you are three… | Mummy's to do list

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

