Word of the Week #16

This time five years ago hubby and I were spending the night in a hotel near Gatwick Airport, recovering from the biggest event of our lives so far, our wedding the day before, and looking forward to jetting off on our wonderful honeymoon to Italy. So my Word of the Week has to be:

Word of the Week - AnniversaryActually the word has double significance as yesterday was not only our fifth wedding anniversary (wood apparently!) but it also saw me reach another slightly less important but none-the-less satisfying milestone, my six-month ‘blogiversary’. More on that another time though. Just to warn you, I may be about to get a little bit misty-eyed and emotional!

Our wedding day was simply amazing, spent celebrating just the way we wanted to with all our friends and family. By the end of it we both felt quite overwhelmed by the love and positivity that had surrounded the whole day. OK, so there had been the small hitch of the classic 1950’s car conking out on the way to the church! I ended up arriving late in the back of an old Ford Fiesta driven by a pair of unlikely heroes – two slightly scruffy but surprisingly helpful teenage lads! It might not have been ideal but it actually added a quirkiness to the day and we certainly didn’t let it spoil the mood. And we had the best party ever, in our opinion anyway!

I can remember it all so vividly but it also feels such a long time ago now. So much has happened over the last five years. We have so many happy memories, a few very difficult ones and, since Little Miss arrived two years ago, some truly amazing ones. My husband is a wonderful man, my best friend and a fantastic father. I really couldn’t ask for more. Here’s to the next five years and way, way beyond.

This post is part of the Word of the Week linky run by fellow blogger Jocelyn over at The Reading Residence. The idea is very simple, every week you come up with one word to sum up your week.

My previous words include:

Can, HappyStickersSpringCalm, Anticipation, Singing, Birthdays and No!

The Reading Residence

Categories: Word of the Week | Tags: , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Word of the Week #16

  1. Wonderful word, wonderful post! That car situation sounds fun! Bet it’s flown by, though? Thanks for sharing happy memories with #WotW

    • I surprised myself by how calm I stayed about the car at the time! I was determined not to do anything that might ruin my make-up. All I really cared about was getting to the wedding before it got too late, knowing the church was booked for another one after ours! I’ve got an official picture of the lads that saved the day – it’s so funny, they look so out of place but were fab.

  2. Congratulations on your anniversary! Great post and happy blogiversary too #WotW

  3. Awww such beautiful words. Happy Anniversary =) #wotw

  4. Pingback: Our bargain, toddler-friendly mini-break in Southampton | Mummy's to do list

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

