A weekend of running…

Word of the Week #20

Word of the Week - Running

Running has always been a big part of my husband’s life and it’s something he’s pretty good at. He was running way before we met, since he was very young, and over the years has competed at county level.

How much he runs depends on the time of year, how fit he’s feeling and whether or not he’s injured. And it has generally taken a bit more of a back seat since Little Miss came on the scene.

Although I can be known to grumble, especially about muddy gear and bringing ice packs into bed when he’s pulled a muscle, as far as sports go running is much more family friendly than most of the other options he could be obsessed with… It’s not dangerous. It’s pretty easy going on the loyal spectator, providing it’s not chucking it down. There are no complicated rules to work out and the distances he runs (these days usually between 5 and 10km) are done and dusted in well under 40 minutes – the quicker the better being the whole point! So there’s not too much waiting around. And races are usually quite exciting to watch.

Runners are also generally pretty healthy, clean-living folk. There may be the odd curry and beer night every so often but it’s all fairly civilized – not the wild weekend benders that some team sports are renowned for revelling in. You need to be fit to run fast so beer bellies are not really in vogue for the serious pavement pounder.

Anyway, last weekend (I’m playing catch up with this post!) was a bit of a bumper one for running and since Little Miss and I wanted to be there to cheer Daddy on, the lovely sunshine was very much appreciated.

Saturday morning saw a trip to our local parkrun, where hubby was taking part in his 50th event – a celebrated milestone for dedicated parkrunners. If you don’t know what parkrun is, it’s a series of free, weekly, 5km timed runs and you can find them popping up all over the country now. Anyone can turn up and run and they really cater for all abilities. I’ve been known to dabble myself and they are a great, non-scary way of getting into running. They’re run (no pun intended!) by volunteers and there’s always a warm welcome and often coffee and cake afterwards. Worth considering if you fancy getting fit or want a new challenge.

Anyway, he did his 50th one and has earned himself a special t-shirt to mark the occasion. Then Sunday saw him taking part in a local 10k race in lovely hot conditions that clearly favoured our little cheering party much more than the poor runners!

For both events it was lovely to see Little Miss getting excited when Daddy ran past, happily shouting “Daddy running, Daddy very fast!” She’s just starting to understand it all and loves the opportunity to be out and about early in the morning.

As someone who was always a bit naff at sports – partly because I always let myself believe I couldn’t do it – I’ve always been a bit in awe of those who seem to have an easy, natural zeal for it. I hope we can encourage Little Miss to have far more confidence than I did and that she continues to enjoy being physically active. This week has seen her running up and down the garden, trying to be like Daddy, so maybe there’s a budding little athlete of the future in there!

This post is part of the Word of the Week linky run by fellow blogger Jocelyn over at The Reading Residence. The idea is very simple, every week you come up with one word to sum up your week.

My previous words include:

Can, HappyStickersCalm, AnticipationSinging, BirthdaysNo! and family.

The Reading Residence

Categories: Word of the Week | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A weekend of running…

  1. Well done to him! I also avoided PE at school when I could and like you, figured I was no good at it. Truth be told, when I took up running, I really enjoyed it, but I fell pregnant with Boo just a few months later, and I’ve never got back to it – one day! Though I doubt I’ll ever be at a decent standard, and like you, I’m always impressed by those that are. I love that your daughter is trying to copy him, so very cute 🙂 Thanks for sharing with #WotW

    • I’m hoping his sporting prowess rubs off on her! I feel so much better myself when I’m running. Hoping to get back to it again later in the year.

      I’ve got another word to link up properly for this week in a mo. Getting back on track after a busy week when the blog had to be a bit neglected.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

