10 cute things I love about my kids right now…

In my ‘happy place’ in the shower the other day I found my mind wandering, as usual, and got thinking about all the lovely little things my two children have said (the toddler not the baby!) or done lately. Those precious, magic moments that have made me smile, laugh or feel truly blessed. It’s so easy for these things to become a distant memory so I thought I should write them down so they don’t get forgotten – I have most of my better ideas in the shower!

10 cute things I love about my kids right now

1. Little Miss currently loves to say “see you later alligator…” when she’s saying goodbye. She also says the second bit for you but instead of saying “in a while” it comes out as “in a ‘pile’ crocodile!”

2. Little Mister has this cute and very noisy waking up ritual. He’ll grunt and shift around a lot, sometimes fart (sorry!), then stretch and screw his little face up. He can do this for a good ten to fifteen minutes before properly opening his eyes. It’s fascinating to watch!

3. Little Miss is desparate to do everything “all by myself” at the moment and given half a chance loves going into her room and getting ready to go out. Trouble is she usually emerges dressed entirely inappropriately, often with winter hat, mittens and big cardigan regardless of it being 30 degrees outside. But she does it with such pride!

4. Little Mister, who really isn’t that little at all, likes his milk and doesn’t like a delay in it being delivered to him. Pick him up when he’s feeling peckish and he’ll pound his little fists on my chest.

5. Little Miss came home from nursery a few weeks ago having learnt a new song, ‘Hop Little Bunnies’. It was one I wasn’t familiar with, and in fact I didn’t even realise it was a song at all to start with. But then I typed it into You Tube and played this video and Little Miss’s face lit up. “Like nursery” she said. And now we love playing the song to her while she hops (kind of) around the room being a little bunny.

6. Little Mister has really started smiling more these last few weeks. It’s lovely to see him becoming more responsive to us and, like any parents, his little grin makes it all worthwhile.

7. Little Miss pretending to ‘do ballet’. This has mainly been inspired by an episode of Peppa Pig and Angelina Ballerina.

8. Little Mister’s new baby smell. Everyone always says it but that newborn aroma is so addictive – warm, milky and sweet.

9.  Little Miss has this funny way of saying ‘please’. She seems to take on this strange accent, which can be slightly annoying but endearing at the same time. It comes out as “yeah playse”! If it’s not that then she says “peas” like the vegetable!

10. Little Mister is just starting to find his voice now, making proper noises. We have little ‘conversations’ with him, primarily based around him saying “oh”! I just love the way it sounds – so small and completely innocent. And I love the look of concentration on his little face as he works hard to form new sounds.

If you’ve got kids, then I’d love to hear what cute little things they’re doing at the moment.

Categories: Baby days, Motherhood, Mummy memories, Toddlerdom | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “10 cute things I love about my kids right now…

  1. awww my little girl used to do pretend ballet .. its so beautiful to watch 🙂

    What a really lovely list of things and its so nice you have taken time out to document them .. i ought to do one!

    thanks for linking up with #MagicMoments

    • Thank you. Will be interesting to see if the love of ballet continues. I remember being desperate to have lessons as a child but didn’t stick at it for more than a few weeks!

  2. How sweet, I love the sound of little mister’s wake up routine, sounds super cute. Little Miss and her dressing skill sound like a bit of a nightmare having to then re-dress her, but still so cute that she’s so determined to do it by herself! Popping in from Magic Moments.

    • Thanks so much for popping by, especially as I love reading your blog. Yes, there are times I dread the little lady’s wardrobe antics! It takes long enough as it is to get out now there’s two. Little Mister seems easy at the moment in comparison!

  3. This is so sweet. I write a gratitude list every week and it usually ends up being things I love about Baby x #MagicMoments

    • Thank you. I really should do a gratitude list too. I kind of do them in my head from time to time, especially when I’m starting to feel frazzled and need a boost!

  4. Funnily enough my 2yo has started saying ‘night night alligator’ before bed, so cute… lovely list 🙂 #magicmoments

  5. Little MIster sounds like a Big Mister in the making with that wake up routine. You are clever to record these moments. The go so quickly and it will be lovely to share them with your children later in life.

    • He’s certainly big! He already looks much older than 8 weeks (sob!). One of the joys of blogging is that I’ll have all this stuff all in one place to look back on. I’m not a diary keeper but this is almost as good. It’s a shame Little Miss was 18 months old before I got started. Hopefully she’ll understand how it was all new! I imagine blogging will be way out of date by the time she can read this. Wonder what we’ll all be doing instead?! Thanks for popping by.

  6. Lovely post. Its funny how many things parents and children have in common – My 4 year old daughter went through a stage of saying see you later baked potato but she would actually say See you later potato bator.

    My younger daughter is now 16 weeks. She still has that baby smell. When you think its probably just baby sweat and milk how and why does it smell good?!

    My 4 year old still does ballet (gracefully stomping around) up and down the living room. She now also thinks that if she puts pretty in front of her please she is guaranteed to get what she asks for….

    ….Cute, but no longer works!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

