Remember this day… a note to myself

This morning I awoke at 5am (I blame that last mug of tea just before bed!). Both children were still sleeping soundly. The night had been unbroken. I’d even managed to be in bed before 11pm. But then my brain started whirring and I couldn’t get back to sleep. Panic set in. My plan for a better night’s sleep was being ruined. Precious minutes of rest were ebbing away. Today would be unbearable. I may as well give up before I even start, I thought.

But I didn’t give up. Today I fought back against my lately negative mindset. And despite a bit less sleep – actually not that much less given the earlier night – today has been a success. And before I forget this and slip back into bad habits, I want to make sure I remember this day.

So here’s a reminder…

Remember this day

When you assume, before the sun’s even risen, that the day ahead will be a disaster, remember this day.

When you think you’re going to be far too tired to face the day ahead, remember this day.

When you’re laying awake in bed worrying that you won’t be good enough for them, remember this day.

When you fear you won’t be able to stay smiling and cope with the seemingly endless cycle of dirty nappies (a ridiculous five poos today!) and toddler toilet trips. And those little accidents (baby boy gave himself a good soaking mid-change today!), remember this day.

When your timings fly out of the window because of the above but yet everyone survived things running a bit late, remember this day.

Remember how you just got on with it, trying not to over analyse things or panic when they didn’t go entirely to plan. Remember how much easier life felt in this mindset.

When you convince yourself it would be easier to just stay at home rather than face the stress and hassle of getting two little ones out, remember this day.

Remember how good it felt to walk out in the crisp, clear sunshine. Remember how much better the fresh air made you feel and how much healthier it was for all three of you to be outside. And you knew then that, despite the struggles, you were doing your very best for your little family. Remember how calming it was to get out of the house, away from the clutter and chores.

When you choose to prioritise non-essential household admin over having fun with your toddler, remember this day. Remember getting her little pink scooter out for the first time in months and enjoying playing outside with her on it while her baby brother slept. Remember your first-born basking in the unbroken attention of her mummy, who she now has to share with a sibling.Remember her happy little face and gleeful shouts. Remember how laughing and being a bit silly made you feel re-energised and upbeat.

When you next dread that said toddler is getting ever closer to dropping her afternoon nap and you fear you won’t cope when she does, remember this day. Remember how not making her have a nap today did not cause a nervous breakdown. Remember how you trusted your true instincts on this and how everyone had a nicer afternoon as a result.

When you tell yourself that you can’t possibly juggle meeting the needs and demands of a toddler and baby at the same time as preparing an evening meal, remember this day.

And, most importantly, when you’ve forgotten to take a step back and look on in pride at the two little people you have created and nurtured, remember this day. Remember how special and brilliant they are. Take a good helping of credit for this. Stop beating yourself up and enjoy life. Enjoy them, always.

Remember that things are very rarely – if ever – as bad as you think they might be. Remember this day. You are doing fine. And tomorrow you can do it all over again.

Image credit: freedigitalphotos.net/digitalart

I’m linking this post up with Word of the Week on The Reading Residence, my word being Remember.

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Categories: Mind matters, Motherhood | Tags: , , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Remember this day… a note to myself

  1. This is my biggest problem too, I forget to just take a step back and look at everything around me. Like you say things aren’t always as bad as they seem!

    • I constantly have to remind myself – constantly! I would love to be one of those people, like my husband, who naturally sees the best in everything. He is my inspiration! I blame my pessimist parents to a degree and so want to do things differently with my two little ones. Life is so much easier when you’re not flying from one blind panic or perceived catastrophe to the next! Thanks so much for reading and glad it struck a chord with someone else.

  2. These are some great words to think about! Thanks for sharing!

  3. I think it’s always good to take a step back and look at the bigger picture and remember the good things.

    • Definitely. I’m so bad at blowing little mishaps and niggles up into major dramas and then missing out on all the fun stuff I should be enjoying. Getting strict with myself now!

  4. I will do this today because I need to. I need to see the best things around me. I need to be thankful for my son and how he is growing up a fine boy even if hes got tantrums and moods. Thanks for this nice read. #sharewithme

  5. What a wonderful post and something for us all to remember x

  6. Time does slip by and it’s good to just remember. Lovely post. #wotw

    • Thank you. Time seems to be going pretty quick at the moment, especially now my maternity leave days are getting numbered, so really don’t want to waste it by feeling stressed all the time.

  7. A great post, and you’re so right. You can get caught up in the little things, but take a step back and enjoy times with the children, and the tougher moments do melt away. Thanks for sharing with #WotW x

    • Thank you and I’m glad to be able to link up with #WotW again after so long away – it was one of the first linkys I joined and is always a favourite.

  8. It is so important to step back and start the day with a positive attitude. Excellent post x #wotw

  9. So, so beautiful, so important to remember the moments, the days that are the smallest things that matter the most. Thanks for linking up to #brilliantblogposts x

  10. Oh this is so beautifully written. I love it and almost made me cry. I know so emotional. lol It really is so important to remember these moments and remind ourselves in tough times of those moments. Lovely post. (can I kindly ask you to include a link back or the SWM badge when linking up so peopel know where you are sharing thanks hun) Thanks for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

    • Thank you so much for your lovely words. That post meant a lot to me so it’s so nice to have such positive comments. So sorry I forgot to badge it up. Had been meaning to all weekend but just didn’t get round to it. Will pop it on later today, promise. And you are always listed as one of my faves on my ‘Blog and linky love’ page too. 🙂

  11. I felt like you could of written this for me! Lovely words and thank you for highlighting these feelings.

    • Thank you so much for such positive feedback. It was a very personal post to write but one I felt was really important to do. It helps to know I’m not the only one too.

  12. Pingback: Guilt-free mum treats | Mummy's to do list

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

