An unexpected proud mummy moment…

Back at the beginning of June we were gifted one of those milestone moments that takes you by surprise, unexpectedly fills your heart with pride and makes you catch your breath for a minute or so. And in my case, there are often a few tears too! I meant to write something as soon as it happened (and I did start, honest!) but before the memory begins to fade here it finally is…

Little Miss and the prayer fish at church

We try and go to church at least a couple of Sundays a month. It’s the church we were married in and where both our children were baptised. My faith is something I find hard to explain or fathom. There is so much I either struggle with or don’t really understand. All I know is that I definitely feel something. I’m drawn towards Christianity and going to church, when we can, feels right for us

The first Sunday of the month is always the all-age worship service, with lots of families. And in June we went along, as usual. Little Miss was asked if she would like to carry the prayer fish net to the front of the church during the collection, just before Communion. She shyly said yes and I wondered if she would get stage fright at the last moment. But she didn’t and when her moment came she did the job to perfection, while I walked behind her trying not to burst into tears!

While she has definitely got taller since Christmas, she is still petite and looked quite tiny walking down the main aisle past the standing congregation – the same aisle that Mummy walked down on her wedding day. I heard several people making admiring comments about her, saying how beautiful she looked. I couldn’t have been more proud.

It was such a lovely and totally unexpected moment. I think I was more overwhelmed than she was! She took on a responsible role and did what she was asked so nicely and in front of so many people. Sometimes she can be shy, especially in new situations and in large groups. But she does love to help and be given little jobs to do and it was such a pleasure to see her getting involved, quietly confident. My beautiful little girl.

Butterfly

Little Miss as a beautiful butterfly at our church family fun day last weekend – her first face painting experience!

Super Busy Mum
Categories: Mummy memories | Tags: , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “An unexpected proud mummy moment…

  1. Aww! How lovely! What a little cutie x

  2. I can’t wait to have my first proud mummy moment! She sounds like such a sweetie, bless her. #MMWBH

  3. aww that’s so sweet. Well done to your little one she’s so brave #MMWBH

  4. Aww – that’s lovely! & such a cute little butterfly too! #MMWBH

  5. How lovely, sounds like it was a very special moment for you all #mmwbh

  6. nourishingmyscholar

    What a lovely, special moment. #MMWBH

  7. Aw how lovely!! 🙂 Bless her, and you!!

  8. aww bless her to many walking down the isle could be scary, well done her on her role!

    re religion … i feel exactly the same as you!
    Thanks for linking up with #MagicMoments

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

