A super-flattering new swimsuit

After almost two years of stubbornly sticking to dry land, I’ve recently been brave and got back in the pool. As a youngster I always loved swimming but as an adult it started to feel like too much of a faff. I was always too nervous to swim while pregnant or with the children as newborns. Added to that was the fact I’ve always felt really self-conscious in swimwear. But I’m hoping all that will change now.

I really want my kids to develop their water confidence; I think it’s an important skill to have. So we’re starting to nurture a little weekend family swimming routine. No way am I brave enough to go on my own with two small charges just yet, especially given one of them can’t walk properly! But our trips as a foursome are going well and a key thing for me – hopefully without sounding hideously vain – has been the super-flattering new swimsuit I found, which has helped me feel that little bit more svelte as opposed to small beached whale!

Have I finally found The One of the swimsuit world?

F&F Magic Illusion swimsuitI think so. And here it is.

I spent a good few nights online agonising over researching the all-important swimwear decision and I’ve been very pleasantly surprised with the end result – a £17.00 bargain from Tesco’s F&F range. It’s called the Magic Illusion swimsuit and it really does live up to its name.

I ordered a very similar looking cossie from Next at the same time, but costing £8 more, and I definitely preferred the Tesco one.

Why is it so good?

I’m a seriously picky customer when it comes to swimwear and the shape of this is so, so flattering. I’m a curvy size 12 – smallish waist, biggish hips, a mum tum and an ample bosom!

The cut is perfect on my cleavage – a lovely sweetheart shape. It has lightly padded cups with elastic underneath, making it feel nicely supportive, and it has adjustable shoulder straps so you can organise your jiggly bits just so! So far, everything has stayed in place and it shows off my assets at their best (if I do say so myself) – which, hopefully, stops people paying any attention to my wobbly, white thighs.

While I’m on the subject of thighs, I’ve also been really pleased with the cut of the suit on the leg. It’s just right, not too high – I hate the feeling that my bum cheek could cut loose at any moment, urgh! – but not so low that it feels frumpy.

Moving on to the other all-important area, the dreaded tummy. It features ruching at the front, which does a fab job of hiding lumps and bumps, while the ‘powermesh’, as they call it, underneath sucks you in for an improved silhouette. It’s nicely taut without being at all uncomfortable.

Fabric wise, it looks and feels nice and has washed well so far. That’s the simple explanation. The website description sounds much more impressive. Apparently, it’s made with Xtra Life Lycra®, meaning it’s durable and should maintain its shape for longer. It also uses ‘CL RESIST technology by Lycra®’ which should give it long-term resistance to sunscreen, chlorine and skin oils. All sounds great and so far, so good in my experience (three swims!).

My only real complaint is that it currently appears to only be available in black and I would definitely buy another one had there been a choice of colours or patterns. There is another Magic Illusion style in magenta but looking at the picture it doesn’t look as flattering to me. So my one comment to the big designer bosses at Tesco (who, of course, I am certain are reading this blog, waiting for my words of wisdom) would be more please!

It does, however, already come in tall and plus-size versions, which may well be useful.

All in all, I have been delighted with this bargain buy. It’s so comfortable, I’ve been able to forget my body hang-ups and get on with enjoying our family time in the water without constantly fiddling with or pulling at my cossie every few minutes. I just wish I’d found it sooner!

You can buy it online here.

NB: I purchased this swimsuit myself. There is no PR jiggery pokery going on here, just my own thoughts.

Family Fever
The Girl Behind The Camera
Categories: Reviews, Style | Tags: , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “A super-flattering new swimsuit

  1. What a bargain! Having had 4 kids I struggle to find flattering swimwear so will certainly be checking this out! Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested

    • I am so fussy about swimwear and usually always find something to hate about whatever it is I’m wearing in the pool. I’m amazed I’ve yet to have a complaint about this!

  2. Colette B

    A flattering swimsuit . . .the holy grail!! I have a similar style one which I must admit I love – the shapewear would be an added bonus. I’ve always been a one piece kinda girl even before I had three kids!
    Thanks for sharing your review on #TriedTested this week x

    • I’m also a one-piece girl all the way. Sadly, I’ve never had a bikini-worthy belly! It’s a shame because the boobs used to be ok, but two babies on they’re not what they used to be either!

  3. Ooo this is similar to one I have without the sweetheart neckline which I love! Thanks for sharing at #FamilyTested

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

