What we read in October…

Last time I posted about reading, I said our updates had slipped from weekly to monthly. Only problem is that I now seem to have got even further behind and, as you’ll see from the title, I’m still grappling with what we read back in October when we’ re now halfway through November!

Time is short these days – and our BT Broadband connection outrageously temperamental (I digress but it winds the hell up out of me *red mist descends* and I need to find the will to make them sort it out) – but I’m hoping things will get that little bit easier as Little Mister gets bigger and I can eke out just a teensy bit more time for this blog. Please bear with me folks!

Despite the recent irregular updates, reading still has a massive place in our house and we’ve been managing to get to the library more regularly again these last few weeks.

300 Picture Books Challenge October... www.mummystodolist.com

Our most recent batch of reads includes titles from some of our old favourites – Julia Donaldson and more Maisy mouse, by Lucy Collins.

There have also been a couple of good ones linked to important toddler milestones.

A Bed of Your Own is a gorgeous book, with lovely illustrations and wonderful rhyming text. And it’s amusing for parents and toddlers alike, as lead character Suzy Sue and her bed-invading animal friends grapple with settling down for a good night’s sleep. Little Miss quite recently made the transition from cot to bed and I’d recommend this book as a fun way to encourage little ones with bedtime.

Meanwhile Who’s On the Loo? was discovered just as we were getting to grips with potty/toilet training (more to come on that in another post!). This one’s pretty basic and features various animals sitting on ‘the throne’, as my mum used to call it, as little duck learns to make the transition from potty to big toilet. The major attraction with this book comes at the end when you press a button to hear the toilet flush. I defy any toddler to be able to resist the lure of a flushing toilet, real or otherwise!

Much loved by Little Miss has been Lovabye Dragon. It’s a current bedtime favourite that must be placed beside her bed each night (we drew the line at letting her sleep with it!) and I’ve had to repeatedly renew it. It’s about a little girl who dreams of having a dragon for a friend and a dragon who dreams of being friends with a little girl. It’s a gentle little tale, quite a calming book to read before sleep. It is perhaps just ever so slightly odd at times but maybe that’s just me! It clearly has masses of appeal for its target toddler audience.

And last, but by no means least, there’s been my latest personal favourite A Squash and a Squeeze by the fabulous Julia Donaldson, the moral of which I have to remind myself of daily as, like the little old lady in the book, I’m constantly grumbling about the size of our house these days! Come to think of it, I feel like a little old lady some days too! As with all of Julia Donaldson’s books, the text is so memorable. I could probably real off most of the story here for you now! She has a perfect knack for writing books that are loved by children but also entertaining for adults. And I love the underlying message of being grateful for what you’ve got.

Phew! So that’s it for now. Hopefully I’ll be able to write my November update before the end of the month this time!

We’re still recording all our reads for the 300 Picture Books Challenge and you can see them all on our Pinterest board. We’ve now read 258 and just collected a new batch from the library so I reckon we’re still on track to complete the challenge of reading 300 different picture books in a year.

In the meantime, I’d love to know what you’ve been reading lately. Are there any children’s books you’d recommend for us?

Categories: Baby bookworm | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “What we read in October…

  1. My son’s just discovered the joys of A Squash and a Squeeze! My daughter always liked it, but he’d yet to get into it, but now we read it a lot! It is lovely 🙂

    • I love Julia Donaldson and that one is just so apt for me right now! I am constantly moaning about our house being too small (but we’re not in a position to move right now). The kids don’t care about the house so this book does remind me what’s important.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

