Introducing our new arrival… not-so-little Mister!

Regular readers may have noticed this blog has been pretty quiet of late. Well, behind the scenes I have in fact been rather busy… growing and now looking after a new addition to the Mummy’s to do list household! I’m thrilled to finally be able to introduce the lovely Little Mister, born on 1st July, weighing a not-so-little 9lb 8oz.

Little Mister collage

Unlike his early bird big sister, who conveniently timed her arrival two days ahead of schedule, our latest bundle of joy kept us waiting more than a week over his due date. But although I felt far more uncomfortable for the last trimester of this pregnancy, I was at least blissfully unaware quite how big he was and had a relatively calm (as far as these things go!) and quick natural delivery. I’d been due to be induced the day after he arrived so big cheers for the midwife that did my third sweep when I was getting really desperate!

So, we’re now back in newborn baby mode, only this time with a curious toddler in tow which can only add to the fun and games. Little Miss has so far taken it all in her stride and says she loves her little brother. She is very intrigued by it all. The latest source of wonder has been the new belly button that emerged from what she called his ‘sore bit’. And she’s been very keen to help where she can, like bringing him little toys and undoing the poppers on his babygro when his nappy needs changing. We’ve been so proud of how well she’s adapted so far. Mummy and Daddy, meanwhile, have had to get used to the technicalities of changing boy’s nappies! I’m still learning the art of this one!

Clearly I kept the news of my pregnancy under wraps on this blog. At times it was tempting to spill the beans but I decided to hold back. Before Little Miss was born, we lost our first baby five months into the pregnancy. Naturally we were devastated and unfortunately it forever changed the way we would experience our subsequent pregnancies. While we have been totally blessed since then, with two healthy babies, each of those long nine months has been fraught with fear that something could go wrong. Hence, my reluctance to share until now.

But let’s not dwell on that… this baby is finally here, Little Miss is now a big sister and our family adventures as a foursome are just beginning. Life is great – even on just a few hours sleep a night! And on that note, I’d better get to bed!

Categories: Baby days, Motherhood, Mummy memories | Tags: , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “Introducing our new arrival… not-so-little Mister!

  1. Ooooh congrats!

  2. Ah congratulations! We had a baby boy too on the 5th July. So are joining you in the world of sleepless nights (great opportunity to catch up on blog reading if nothing else!) x

    • Congratulations to you too! At the moment I’m quite rubbish in the night. I can barely keep myself awake so not getting much chance to catch up with the blogging world like I thought I would! Sure I’ll get back in the swing of things soon.

  3. normaleverydaylifeblog

    Congratulations on your beautiful new baby! What a happy time! #magicmoments

  4. Caroline (Becoming a SAHM)

    Aww bless you lovely I completely understand your reluctance to share but huge Congratulations! I did think I hadn’t seen much from you lately! Take your time, the blogging world is all still here, and enjoy your gorgeous little bundle! Very glad to hear all went well xxx #magicmoments

    • Thank you, he is gorgeous (I know I’m biased!) and so nice to be able to relax a bit more again. Blogging was a very welcome and enjoyable distraction for much of the pregnancy but by the last few weeks I was so tired I just couldn’t keep up with it. Nice to be back now though.

  5. Huge congratulations. Enjoy this magical time x

  6. Huge congratulations! Welcome to the world Little Mister. May who have many many adventures with your big sister.

    • Thank you, I’m sure he will – she’s taken to her new little brother very nicely so far, although she does have a penchant for wanting to undo the poppers on his babygros at every opportunity, poor boy!

  7. Aww congratulations! What a cutie!

  8. Big congratulations to the new addition. He is beautiful. I bet little miss loves being a big sister. #magicmoments

  9. Pingback: Summer Book Exchange: Big Yellow Digger - Adventures of Adam

  10. He is big! So cute and calm looking in his photos too =) Congratulations =) #pocolo

  11. Pingback: Our summer book exchange: fun with Elmer the Elephant | Mummy's to do list

  12. Pingback: I got 99 posts… and now my blog is one! | Mummy's to do list

  13. Pingback: Problem-free potty training… | Mummy's to do list

  14. Pingback: A relieved mum’s top 10 potty training essentials… | Mummy's to do list

  15. Pingback: What we read in November… | Mummy's to do list

  16. Pingback: Now you are three… | Mummy's to do list

  17. Pingback: Happy first birthday Little Mister | Mummy's to do list

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

