Really easy toilet roll crafts for toddlers!

Mummy's to do list - toilet roll octopusI’ve been wanting to write something a bit ‘crafty’ for a while now and in my mind had envisaged it being just a little bit more highbrow than activities with a loo roll tube. But toddlers aren’t all that discerning and we had fun making these so I thought I’d share our ‘toilet roll animals’ with you! They were really simple to do – made with bits we already had in the house – and kept Little Miss amused for a good half hour or so, which is pretty good given the average toddler attention span!

Mummy's to do list blog - toilet roll octopusSo first up we have Mr Octopus, who you can see in the top picture, made with your good old family loo roll tube. Basically you just cut the eight legs and hey presto, there he is! If you cut the legs longer it could make an equally good spider if that’s more your thing. Once you’ve done the legs you’ve got the fun bit of decorating him, which as you can see Little Miss took  quite seriously – to start with at least. The Works is great for bags of cheap craft bits and bobs, like the boggly eyes. If you’ve got the time and inclination then it might be nice to get the paint out (clearly I didn’t here!).

Moving on, we have (drum roll) Kitchen Towel Tube Snake…

Mummy's to do list blog - kitchen roll snake

Mummy's to do list blog - kitchen roll snakeThis was made by cutting diagonally round the tube in a spiral motion – hopefully that makes sense as I’ve just struggled to put this into words! We, well I, then drew on the eye and decorated it with coloured pencils. Little Miss enjoyed coiling her new cardboard reptile friend around her arm!

So there you have it. A new way to get rid of those those pesky cardboard tubes that we seem to get so many of –  we could make half a zoo in an average week!

The initial inspiration for these was found within the wonderous fountain of ideas that is Pinterest but we gave it our own spin – and I’m claiming the snake idea as my own, though I strongly suspect I couldn’t patent it!

I regularly pin ideas for toddler arts and crafts onto my Pinterest board, which cunningly has that name. Further loo roll animals can be found on this board, though some look a bit too complicated for Little Miss to enjoy making just yet. And I’m collecting Easter-themed toddler activities here. Also worth a follow on Pinterest is Craftulate.

So, what do you think of our creations?

Creative Challenge
Mini Creations
 
Let Kids Be Kids link badge
Categories: Toddler activities | Tags: , , | 27 Comments

Post navigation

27 thoughts on “Really easy toilet roll crafts for toddlers!

  1. Caroline (Becoming a SAHM)

    I Love this, fantastic! I have never thought of doing more with toilet rolls than using them as a tube to roll things through. This is genius though, there is so much you can do with them, and let’s face it, they are never in short supply! Wonderful, thank you so much for linking up with #creativechallenge xx

    • Glad our handiwork went down well. Think we may be painting next week, though also bought some tissue paper and pipe cleaners yesterday. And I said I would make a Little Miss Sunshine outfit for World Book Day… that one will probably be biggest challenge!

  2. Grace says – This is a great way to use all the left over toilet/kitchen roll tubes – I love the Octopus – he is very cute. Great job Little Miss x
    Thanks for linking to #minicreations

    • Thank you. We still seem to have an endless supply of tubes! Will have to find more ways to use them. Looking forward to joining in again next week!

  3. Definitely on my to do list, thanks!

  4. I love this one! Such a cute octopus!
    Popping over from #letkidsbekids

  5. The wonders of the toilet roll, they can be made into anything, we might try the octopus too x #letkidsbekids

  6. Such an easy fun craft for little ones. I love the octopus!
    Thanks for sharing #LetKidsBeKids

  7. Pingback: Creative Challenge Linky #2 | Becoming a Stay at Home Mum

  8. These are fab, and lovely and easy too! #LetKidsBeKids

  9. I have a toilet roll obsessive here – he’s currently saving them up to make his own giant marble run!!

  10. Should have added #letkidsbekids too

  11. Once again proof that the simple things are often the best. Toilet rolls are also great for sowing seeds in – add compost, sow seed and plant the whole thing later Popping by from #Letkidsbekids

    • Thanks for popping by. Agree that simple is often best, especially with little ones. We’ll have to try planting seeds. Sure that would fascinate Little Miss.

  12. How cute is this! My little girl will love making these. Thanks for posting #letkidsbekids

  13. Pingback: Let kids be kids linky 11/3/14 | Let Kids Be Kids

  14. These are absolutely thank you for the inspiration, I can’t wait to try out the octopus this afternoon

  15. Pingback: My top five posts at 50 | Mummy's to do list

  16. Pingback: Our summer book exchange: fun with Elmer the Elephant | Mummy's to do list

  17. Pingback: I got 99 posts… and now my blog is one! | Mummy's to do list

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.