300 Picture Book Challenge #1

I’ve started the year with a few resolutions and plans to join with in some of the fab new linkys that have just launched. Reading has always been a great love of mine and now I’m the proud owner of my own little (rapidly growing) baby bookworm. So we’re really excited about joining in with the 300 Picture Book Challenge.

Some of my best moments of the day are when Little Miss announces ‘book, book’, toddles over to her book basket and brings something back to me. She’ll then say ‘knee, knee’ which is where she she likes to sit for her stories. It’s a chance to have a sneaky snuggle while doing something we both enjoy. More often than not she’ll keep bringing me more books. I think our record in one sitting was ten (but that was before the challenge started so won’t help our total!).

It’s been lovely to start keeping a record of what we’re reading together and will be interesting to look back on at the end of the year. You can follow our progress here on Pinterest.

Week 1 of 300 Picture Books Challenge 2014

In our first week we have got through 29 books. My personal favourite was The Hungry Caterpillar, a classic from my own childhood.

Most of these were ones we already had at home, some were Christmas presents and eight were library books. We are rapidly exhausting our current supply though – I hadn’t realised how often we were repeating some of the favourites! We’ve got a Christmas book token to spend, so that’ll help, and we’re due another visit to the library (I’ve previously posted about how the library can be a lifesaver for new mums, you can read that here). Overall, though, I’ve really enjoyed the first week of the challenge and look forward to discovering more great books in the coming weeks.

You can find out more and join in with the 300 Picture Book Challenge over on the Child Led Chaos blog.

300 Picture Books badge

Categories: Baby bookworm | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “300 Picture Book Challenge #1

  1. I love My Mummy and Me and My Daddy and Me. We read an old favourite in our #300 PB challenge this week – Supermarket Zoo by Caryl Hart and Ed Eaves.

    • We haven’t read that one yet. It sounds fun though so will definitely look out for it. I love the beautiful pictures in My Mummy and Me and My Daddy and Me.

  2. Pingback: What we read in October… | Mummy's to do list

  3. Pingback: What we read in November… | Mummy's to do list

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

